



MEDIA STATEMENT

Private Bag X147, Pretoria, 0001 Tel: (012) 999 5200 - Fax: (012) 991 0371 Eco Origin Office Park, Block F, 349 Witch-Hazel Street, Highveld Ext 79, Centurion

To:All MediaIssued:20 June 2018Attention:News Editors / Transport Reporters / PR Wires

Howick driving licence testing centre trial postpone

BREAKING NEWS: Sixteen suspects implicated in allegations of fraud and corruption at the Howick driving licence testing centre in KwaZulu Natal appeared in the Durban Specialised Commercial Crimes Court today.

The case was postponed to August 7, 2018 pending further investigations. The suspects are out on bail.

The 16, including licence examiners and learner licence applicants were arrested by members Road Traffic Management Corporation's National Traffic Anti-Corruption Unit and the Directorate of Priority Crime Investigations (Hawks) in major crackdown on corruption related to the fraudulent issuing of motor vehicle driving licences in March this year.

Board of Directors: Mr Z Majavu CD(SA) (Chairman), Ms P Manqele, Ms T Mdlulwa, Ms D Ewertse, Mr T Kgomo, Prof. M Mphahlele, Ms T Thankge, Dr E Thebe, Mr J Motsatsing* Chief Executive Officer: Advocate MS Msibi Company Secretary: Ms S Petse *Departmental Representative The arrests followed a long investigation in which officials from the Howick driver learner testing centre were observed engaging in unethical and corrupt conduct at the centre.

Investigations are continuing and more arrests are expected.

Corruption related to the issuing of driving licence documents is a major concern and is believed to contribute significantly to road accidents is South Africa.

A majority of fatal crashes in South Africa are attributed to human error and the ability of the drivers to handle the vehicle plays an important role in this.

ENDS

Issued by: Road Traffic Management Corporation (RTMC)

<u>www.rtmc.co.za</u>

Spokesperson-Simon Zwane: (082) 551 9892

Board of Directors: Mr Z Majavu CD(SA) (Chairman), Ms P Manqele, Ms T Mdlulwa, Ms D Ewertse, Mr T Kgomo, Prof. M Mphahlele, Ms T Thankge, Dr E Thebe, Mr J Motsatsing* Chief Executive Officer: Advocate MS Msibi Company Secretary: Ms S Petse *Departmental Representative