

Physical Address Eco Origin Office Park, Block F 349 Witch-Hazel Street Highveld Ext 79, 0157 Centurion, Gauteng South Africa

Email: Info@rtmc.co.za Tel: (012) 999-5200 Fax: (012) 991-0371 Postal Address Private Bag X147 Pretoria, 0001

The Road Traffic Management Corporation (RTMC) is an Agency of The Department of Transport and a Member of the United Nations Road Safety Collaboration

MEDIA ADVISORY

To : All News Editors

Issued : 06 September 2024

Attention: News Reporters / Transport Reporters / Newswires

ROAD TRAFFIC MANAGEMENT CORPORATION INVESTIGATES EASTERN CAPE AND FREE STATE CRASHES

The Road Traffic Management Corporation (RTMC) has assigned a team of investigators to investigate the cause of a crash that has claimed five (5) lives and left twelve (12) others injured when a minibus taxi overturned yesterday in Mgwenyane situated in Libode in the Eastern Cape.

The RTMC is also investigating the crash that occurred on Saturday 31 August 2024 on the R723 between Parys and Koppies in the Free State. The crash occurred when the driver of a vehicle lost control and the vehicle overturned resulting in five (5) fatalities and six (6) others injured.

The RTMC extends its deepest condolences to the families and loved ones of those who lost their lives in these heartbreaking accidents. We also send our best wishes for a speedy recovery to the individuals currently hospitalised with injuries.

RTMC officials are working closely with local authorities to assess the cause of both accidents. The RTMC will also examine whether factors such as vehicle roadworthiness, driver behaviour, or road conditions played a role in the crashes.





ISSUED BY: THE ROAD TRAFFIC MANAGEMENT CORPORATION (RTMC)

Contact person: Simon Zwane: Chief Communication Officer (082) 551-9892

www.rtmc.co.za





Board of Directors: Ms N Mufamadi (Chairperson), Prof. M Mphahlele, Ms T Thankge CD(SA), Dr E Thebe, Adv. X Stemela, Ms L Magalo, Prof C Twala, Mr NJ Kudzingana, Adv. J Makgatho* Chief Executive Officer: Advocate MS Msibi Company Secretary: Ms S Petse *Departmental Representative